Daily Archives: August 14, 2009

Up with the sun

This my friends, is why I am addicted to running in the mornings.

100_6832

This is just a snapshot of what I see running on the trail along the river. I also saw a cute little fox this morning ;)

 

I added the usual 5 minutes to my long run this week, for 55 minutes total. Since I’d be burning a little more calories than my usual morning workouts, I went for a larger pre-run snack.

100_6826

You can spot my Jamaica beer mug in the back that I drink my iced coffee out of. This was just an end piece of toast with 2 tsp peanut butter and half a banana. Usually I just have half a banana with a smear of PB. Today’s combo hit the spot and carried me through my run perfectly.

Stats:

Duration: 55:06
Distance: 5.71 miles
Avg Pace: 9:39 min/mi
Avg HR: 161
Max HR: 174

The best part was when I ended my workout on the Nike+iPod, Lance Armstrong’s voice chimed in and said “Congratulations, that’s your longest distance yet!” I may or may not have gotten so excited that I thanked him out loud. On the sidewalk. That’s one thing I like about the Nike+. Some robot voices can be really irritating, but I find this one to be motivating. I love hearing the woman tell me I’m “halfway there!”

For this run, I did 7 minutes running/1 minute walking intervals. Again, it worked perfectly for me. I was doing around a 9:00 pace during the running intervals, so I still ended up with a decent pace regardless of the walking (and picture taking) breaks. I’m pretty confident that I can run stronger, faster and longer by breaking it up with walking. Have no shame in it!! :D

 

After lotsa foam rolling and stretching, I iced my cranky ankle and had a glorious bowl of oats.

100_6839

  • 1 packet President’s Choice instant multi-grain oats
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 1/2 tbsp plain soy protein powder
  • 1/4 cup almond milk
  • 4 chopped dates
  • 1 tbsp shredded unsweetened coconut
  • 5 roasted almonds (sooo much better than raw!)
  • 1 tbsp almond butter

100_6838

Even though it was already scorching hot at this point, this was sooooo satisfying. My favourite bites were the ones with the gooey half-cooked date pieces :)

 

After yesterday’s incident, I made certain I had a purse packed full of food when I left for work today. And you know what? I ended up with an extra hour to come home and eat lunch! Go figure…

100_6844

  • pita pocket
  • turkey slices
  • hummus
  • zucchini
  • mushrooms
  • onion
  • green pepper
  • sprouts
  • spinach

I am a total news/blog junkie. I usually eat while reading articles online.

 

Hmm, how about some fun questions today?

Where do you usually eat? In front of the TV? Computer? At the dinner table?

Early riser or night owl? I used to be SUCH a night owl. Then I turned 23. Now I get up at 6 am without my alarm. My mom says it has to do with babymaking hormones. I think it’s the fact that I work at 5 am every weekend…

 

Speaking of weekends! I work the early shift tomorrow, then I’m of to my hometown again until Monday with Chris. YAY!! We’re bringing our bikes so we should have a few adventures. Have a great start to your weekend!!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers