Daily Archives: August 11, 2009

A savoury morning

Hiya! Hope y’all are having a good day so far :) I had a stellar sunrise run this morning. I was scared it was going to rain, but it turned out sunny!

Duration: 27:40
Distance: 5 km
Avg Pace: 8:54 min/mi
Avg HR: 168 (85%)
Max HR: 181 (92%)

I was pushing myself again! My first kilometre was at about a 10:00 pace, and then I think I slowly got faster and faster. I was huffing and puffing towards the end. But I just kept telling myself that if I push it now, then next time it will be easier. Right…?

For breakfast, I made something I’ve been meaning to make forever. Seriously. Over a year now, at least.

100_6770

Savoury oats! Jenna’s recent post reminded me that I still haven’t tried this concoction. It’s half cup rolled oats cooked with one cup water, salt and a little Earth Balance. I topped it with two soft-cooked eggs, swiss cheese (all I have) and hot salsa.

100_6772

It was SO good!! I urge you to try this if you haven’t yet! The runny yolk tasted amazing with the soft, warm oats. I wish I had some ham or smoked salmon to add to it, but I’m in desperate need of groceries. Next time I guess, because I’ll definitely be doing this again! :)

 

Have you guys heard that Jillian Michaels has come out with her own line of supplements? I gotta say, I was pretty surprised by this. I’ve followed her podcasts, articles, and interviews, and I always liked her because it seemed like she promoted  losing weight the “natural way.”

I’m not saying her supplements are unnatural, but I think it’s a little strange for her to put her name on pills called “Maximum Strength Calorie Control” and “Maximum Strength Fat Burner.” These supplements are advertised as appetite suppressants and pills that decrease body fat. I never saw her as one to promote the use of magic pills to lose weight. I always appreciated her “eat right and exercise” message.

I can understand why she did it. I mean, she’s an entrepreneur with money to make. I just think it sends a mixed message. There are a lot of people out there who look up to Jillian Michaels, and will spend money on this product when they perhaps don’t need to.

What are your thoughts? Have you ever taken supplements before? I guess it’s pretty obvious I never have. Even though many weight loss supplements are in fact natural, I could just never believe that something smaller than my thumbnail could suppress my appetite. The only thing that does that is food! :P

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers