Daily Archives: August 7, 2009

There’s a first time for everything…

Helloooo! Can I get an amen for the weekend? I magically do not have to work this Saturday and Sunday, I didn’t even book it off. So I’m driving straight home after work today, it’s only 160 km-ish (100 miles) away. My mom won’t be there, but I’ll still get to see my dad and nana. Plus, I just miss the city! I haven’t been there since January! Oh, and did I mention shopping? There’s much better shopping there, so I will likely be indulging in some of that too ;)

I left you yesterday with a growling tummy and the desire to make a quick and simple supper. Here’s what I ended up with:

100_6647

Hmm, doesn’t look that appetizing, but I swear it was tasty! Just a simple stir-fry:

  • lotsa cabbage
  • 1/4 block vegetable tofu
  • onion
  • frozen carrot/sweet pepper/asparagus mix
  • scrambled egg
  • Diana’s teriyaki sauce
  • Bragg’s
  • sesame oil
  • black sesame seeds

I’m not a big rice fan, so I love using cabbage as my “base” for stir-fries.

Now, here’s where I have a bit of a bone to pick with you guys. I tried out something of a “childhood classic” that was devoid from my own (along with soda and potato chips, thanks mom and dad!). My problem is how come no one ever forced me to try this before!? It’s amazing!!!

Oh yes, I’m talking about PB&J.

100_6654

Yup, my first peanut butter and jam experience. On two wasas with natural peanut butter and a peach raspberry jam. Sweet mother this was good. How have I gone 23 years without this? Don’t get me wrong, I loved my dad’s honey and PB sandwiches growing up (on “birdseed bread” as I called it). But now I feel like I have lived life to the fullest. PB&J, you complete me.

I also did a bunch of stretching and foam rolling before bed last night. Even though I was still mega sore getting out of bed this morning, I felt ready for my weekly long run.

Had the usual banana and iced coffee before heading out for a glorious 50 minutes along the river. I love my running trail. It is SO gorgeous to run along the St. John River as the sun rises. It’s secluded enough to be “nature-y” but close to a main road and runs along some houses, so still very safe.

I took a cue from reader Faith Ann, who always does run-walk intervals on her long runs, doing 6:1. It worked perfectly for me. I ran at a pace that felt comfortable for my running intervals, which was around 9:00-9:10, and ended up doing 5.25 miles.

The best part? No ankle pain! Well, that’s a lie. I had all the usual nagging pains, but nothing long-lasting or overly concerning. I looked up the pain in The Runner’s Repair Manual and it sounded like what I was experiencing before were symptoms of achilles tendonitis. I did the recommended stretches for it, including the wall push-up with a bent back knee. Apparently bending the knee stretches the lower part of your calf. I also iced and ibuprofin-ed after. It worked!

I was pretty hungry when I got home, had a hankering for a big ole bowl of oats. It’s been a while!

100_6657

I don’t care what you think, oats are beautiful and make for a gorgeous photo!

This was my best bowl of oats ever combo (yes, that’s what I actually named it)

  • 1/4 cup oat bran
  • 1/4 cup rolled oats
  • 1 1/3 cup water (with a dash of almond milk)
  • 2/3 scoop chocolate whey protein powder
  • 1/2 a rather large banana
  • 1 tbsp peanut butter
  • dark chocolate chips
  • unsweetened shredded coconut

So yummy and comforting. A big bowl of oats never ceases to put a smile in my face :)

Oh, and thank you for being nice to me about my obsessive workout scheduling. For the record I did not feel guilty about skipping my bike ride. Feeling guilty about missing workouts are a thing of the past for me. I can no longer feel guilty about giving my body what it needs, and have learned from experience that rest is often the best way to improve and build strength. I was just venting that I spend way too much mental energy trying to figure out ways to squeeze everything in. It’s a combination of a desire to get better at all these things while the weather is still nice enough to train outside. I want to make the most of warm evenings like yesterday before the cold weather returns!

So how about a random Q… What’s one common food or meal that you’ve never tried? Mine was obviously PB&J, but I have a friend who’s never tried rice!!

Have a great weekend everyone! I’ll be reporting back tomorrow from my mom’s house :)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers