Daily Archives: August 4, 2009

Embracing my inner carnivore

So while I was blogging away this morning, I was not doing a vital part of my morning routine. Making my work eats! Blogging aaalllways takes me longer than I plan once you factor in re-reading and cleaning up all the text (I’m a broadcast journalist, I can’t help it!).

So come 8:50 am, it was time to leave my place, and I had no work eats to pack in my lovely new lunch bag. Enter emergency soup.

100_6612

This is one of my roommie’s abandoned soups that didn’t make it to the food bank bag. I don’t eat a lot of soup, especially not canned soup. Firstly, I don’t like drinking my food! But also because of the sodium/saltiness and the sometimes sketchy ingredients I can’t pronounce. This however looked appetizing enough, so I kept it for mornings exactly like today’s!

100_6609

100_6609

Immediately, I noticed the nutrition info contains one of my biggest pet peeves. This 398 mL container is clearly marketed as a portion for one, It’s even designed to be popped in the microwave and eaten immediately. But the nutrition facts are for 250 mL!! Sheesh! I’m a liberal arts grad, I can’t do that kind of math!

Luckily, I had my handy-dandy accessories calculator at work. REAL nutrition facts are as follows:

Calories 121
Fat 4.7g
Sodium 748mg
Carbohydrates 16g
Fibre 3g
Sugar 3g
Protein 4.7g

That’s more like it :)

100_6600

The soup itself was pretty decent tasting. Had a good amount of bulk to it, although way too much rice and not enough chicken. I still have three of these left. Next time I’ll bring an additional protein to add to it and dump out some of the broth.

Oh, and I obviously did not have just the soup. I grabbed an apple and two cheestrings to go with.

I also discovered some pre-portioned baggies of trail mix I did up and forgot about while I was cleaning out my cupboards yesterday. It was the perfect grab-and-go snack for later.

100_6601

A sampling of what was in the goody bag. That random bumpy brown lump 12 o’clock to the walnut is some random dried berry I picked up at the Bulk Barn. At first, I thought it had the strangest texture, but they’ve really grown on me! I have yet to find a dried fruit I don’t like.

I continued my cow hating again for supper tonight with fresh hamburger I picked up at the local meat shop yesterday.

As someone who can barely cook chicken, I was in way over my head attempting to cook a hamburger on the stovetop. I really wish that someone told me bloody juices seep out of it when it’s cooking. I felt like I was killing it all over again…

On the bright side, my inner carnivore took over and I was salivating at the smell. I think I cooked it for maybe two minutes too long, but it otherwise turned out quite edible, and dare I say – good!

100_6606

It was a pre-formed patty of just straight up lean ground beef. So most of the hard work was already done for me ;) I like the idea of cooking meat at home because I have control over what type of meat it is, where it comes from, and what type of oils it’s cooked in. I just ate it on top of a piece of toast. Since it was pre-formed, it was a little larger than it would be if I made it myself. So I opted to skip the bun to save room for a little green stuff on the side :)

I have to admit though, the red meat as not been nice to my digestive system. It’s like it’s working much harder to process all this foreign food. Or, like digesting a brick. Thus, tomorrow will be a cow-free day. Turkeys and soybeans beware though :P

More questions! Are you or have you ever been a vegetarian? Why or why not?

I gave up red meat when I was 13 years old. Then gave up all meat when I was 14. It wasn’t for ethical reasons. The thought of chowing down on dead animal bits just grossed me out. I started eating fish again a couple years ago, then added poultry this past Thanksgiving. This red meat thing is brand new to me, as of last month. It’s fun rediscovering the foods of my childhood. I really want to open myself up to all foods again, and don’t want to consider anything “off limits.” I just really wish red meat wasn’t so darn bloody! Ewewewew.

Okee, I’m off to make my lunch for tomorrow now so I don’t have to eat soup for lunch again! See ya tomorrow for a fun new lifting workout!!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers