Daily Archives: August 2, 2009

A day of fuelling

I biked 62.5 km (39 miles) this afternoon! New distance record! :D

My fuelling started good and early with a new breakfast cookie at 5am.

100_6535

I tried to go for a vanilla almond flavour.

  • 2/3 scoop vanilla whey powder
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1 tbsp almond butter
  • 1 tbsp sliced almonds
  • 1 tbsp slivered almonds
  • couple splashes unsweetened vanilla almond milk

All mixed up and put in the fridge overnight. It needed a little cinnamon and perhaps a splash of vanilla extract, otherwise verrry good! I’ll be adding a recipe page for it once I get it perfect :)

I purposely packed a snack that would take me a while to munch on at my desk. Strawberry yogurt, grapes, blueberries and strawberries.

100_6537 100_6540

100_6541 100_6542

It was fun to eat :) And took me longer than five seconds to get down…

“Lunch” (at 10am) was like the opposite of egg white pillows.

100_6544

Flat whole eggs? I boiled them last night. I also put a little whipped butter on the english muffin. Butter is your friend :)

I am a fruit fiend!

100_6549

I totally think my sweet tooth attacks through eating fruit. If I didn’t pay attention, I could easily eat around 8 servings of fruit a day. Crazy!

Had another snack when I got home, hummus on wasa crackers.

100_6551

Someone took a bite!!! Oh wait, that was me ;)

And a frozen deep chocolate vitamuffin with a slather of PB.

100_6554

I already need to get a new box. This is turning into an expensive habit…

I didn’t head out for my ride right away. I like to decompress a little after work, so I hung around, watched swimming and read the Julie/Julia Project blog. Not sure when I’ll get the chance to see the movie (my small-city theatre sucks, big time), but I’m really enjoying the blog in the meantime!

Eventually, I got geared up and had some more snackies.

100_6557

And made some snacks for the bike ride.

100_6561

5 dates with a smear of PB. I’ve been putting them in a plastic bag and attaching it under my bike computer. Stays put and easily accessed while in motion.

Whooo-eee, it was a windy one out today!! I don’t mind a constant head wind so much, but it was really gusty in some parts. It kind of scares me because the wind pushes me around. I’m always nervous I’m going to get blown into traffic or on the gravel shoulder (gravel = not fun on a road bike).

In all I biked 62.5 km (39 miles) in 2:49 minutes. To be honest, I don’t care how long it took me or how fast I was going. That’s a long time to be in the saddle!

I actually got off halfway to pee at a gas station. I just didn’t think I could comfortably bike another 30k with a full bladder! So I took a few minutes after to eat my dates outside, and of course, take a couple pictures :)

100_6565 100_6566

I like to bike around the Lincoln/Oromocto area on the outskirts of town. No traffic lights!! This is the Nevers Road for those of you who know the area. It’s my favourite stretch on my route. Mostly flat and fast with a couple hills for a little challenge.

Even though I was on my bike for almost three hours, it didn’t feel like that long! Although, I was definitely glad to be home when I got there. Refuelled with a smoothie.

100_6569 
Okay, I know last time I said it was the best combo for the Vega stuff yet, but this time seriously was the best so far!

  • 1 box pure coconut water
  • 2 scoops Vega smoothie infusion
  • handful frozen papaya chunks
  • 1/3 frozen banana
  • couple ice cubes
  • two scoops plain yogurt
  • two drops almond extract

The almond extract is what made it. I usually don’t add it to a lot of things because it’s so over-powering. But it was magnificent with the coconut water!

Oh yes, and there was a “refreshing” popsicle…

100_6572

Another hot and sunny day out! Good thing I stocked up on some SPF 60 before today!

 

So that’s how I fuelled for my long bike day :) I like doing my long rides on Sundays because I eat more food, being up so early. I do not like being in a calorie deficit when I’m exercising. I find it really draining both during and after the activity. Part of the reason why, even if I work out first thing in the morning, I still cram back some calorie dense PB. I burned around 1130 calories, and consumed over that before going out there. So I didn’t feel like I was going to die at any point. I didn’t even have to use the granny gear to get over the last steep hill at the very end! :D

Now it’s time for me to get out of my dirty cycling clothes (except my bike shorts – those come off first, bacteria builds in there!) and get started on dinner. I’m going to attempt spring rolls with my Asian grocery finds. Be back in the a.m. friends!

Hope you had a stellar weekend!

Question: What’s your favourite way to fuel? (and yes, fuelling for long trips to the grocery store counts. Those can be gruelling!)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers