Things I learned…

Bah! It’s August already! How does this keep happening?? This morning’s post is going to be borrowed from Ellie’s “Things I Learned This Week.” Except it’s going to be “Things I Learned This Month.” July was a big month for me! 

  • I learned I don’t like steak  but I do love hamburgers.
  • I completely gave up what little vegetarian lifestyle I was clinging onto and embraced eating like my peers at social events
  • My love for hummus was challenged by tzatziki. It has been an all-out battle ever since.
  • I learned that I can do ANYTHING.
  • I learned my body is more than just something that I want to look good. I learned that it carries me through life, and can be challenged in ways I never thought possible.
  • Dude, I did a triathlon!!! 
  • I learned that chocolate pie makes a great dinner
  • I set out new fitness goals for myself, only cementing that I’m in this for the long run. I want to be active for the rest of my life.
  • I learned that life is indeed very long, and in some ways mine is only just starting.
  • I don’t have to do races to feel an enormous sense of accomplishment. 
  • Having a trunk that pops open is in fact the greatest luxury in the world.
  • I only have a few people who truly support me in life, but those few are my rocks, my foundation, and I will never take them for granted.
  • I learned I don’t have to be a clean eater to be “healthy.” Even processed junky foods are fine in moderation.
  • Just because a food is “fresh and healthy” doesn’t mean I can eat it in large quantities. There is such a thing as to much of a good thing.
  • Balance is only ever acheived when you stop obsessing and just let things happen. Letting go is sometimes the best way to achieve the goals I always wanted.

And my favourite picture for July…

5240_517177057025_115400580_30928435_4454144_n

Taken seconds after finishing my first triathlon. It’s true, I really can do anything I put my mind to!

I’ve got a few more things coming up in August:

  • Moving into my sweet new bachelor(ette) pad
  • Going on a weekend getaway with Chris
  • Hopefully visiting my hometown!
  • Sisters coming to visit :)

How about you? What did you learn in July? What are you looking forward to in August?

Posted on August 1, 2009, in Challenges, Lessons Learned and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. I’ve been a lurker for a long time. I really enjoy your blog. I just wanted to tell you how much I enjoy it and what a great post this was. I might have to “borrow” the concept for my blog. Have a great day.

  2. Um, I totally agree with you on the whole tzaziki sauce thing :)
    Awesome blog topic- \
    for myself, I definetely learned that my body can take a lot more challenges than I think it can physically. And in August, I am definetely looking foward towards progressing in my marathon training! sort of. :P
    Anyways, have an amazing day, and thanks for commenting on mah bloggg!

  3. You’ve learned some great things this month! I’ve learned that I have the strength to follow my heart and change my major, and also that my body will bounce back pretty quickly after my surgery. In August, I want to keep running and enter all the classes for my new major (kinesiology) with confidence and grace! No breakdowns :)

  4. rediscoveringlauren

    wow, youve really learned and accomplished alot :) way to go!! and i love what you said about being able to do anything you set your mind to…very true :) and the triathalon thing…so awesome!!
    I completely agree about eating everything in moderation..a cookie or chocolate or whatever wont do us any harm if eaten in moderation…lifes not about deprivation!
    I learned to listen to my body more after injuring myself!
    Have a great weekend :)

  5. Lovely post! I’ll have to think about what I’ve learned this month. You have certainly achieved a lot and you should be proud! Thank you for the reminder that health is not about eating 100% clean…I think in blogworld we can all lost sight of that sometimes.

  6. What a great post! I might have to steal the idea and do this, too :D

    Love that picture of you as well, you look so satisfied.

    I learned that I am capable of more than I thought during July (triathlon!).

    In August, I am just looking forward to getting a few health issues cleaned up and making sure I get some down time.

  7. wow this is such a cool post – to reflect back. Congrats on the triathalon girlie!! thats really cool :)
    I love your definition of balance too – couldn’t be more true!

  8. Awesome list Susan!! You’ve inspired me to write my own (just gotta think on it a little more ;) )

  9. i love this list! and i love that i got to read it all, i feel like i was right there with you. haha. the best bullet was “Dude, I did a triathlon!!! ” UM YEAH! dude you are a rockstar!! july for me was rough~losing my nephew~but i DID run my first 10k which was great. hooray for your new pad! and where are you and chris going?

  10. What a great reflection! You are an inspiration indeed.
    I think that in July, I learned that no matter how hard I think I am trying , I can always try harder if I truly want something. And… that the effort I put into will eventually pay off.

    Congrats on your triathlon!!

  1. Pingback: Not-so-lazy Saturday « The Great Balancing Act

  2. Pingback: Lessons Learned and a New Set of Goals « The Great Balancing Act

  3. Pingback: Things I Learned – October 2009 « The Great Balancing Act

  4. Pingback: Things I Learned – January « The Great Balancing Act

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers

