Someone call the wah-bulance

This morning, I woke up with a mission. Beat the heat. It’s going to be HOT around here for the next few days, so outdoor activity will have to be scheduled accordingly.

When my body clock woke me up at 6:30 am, I jumped (okay, stumbled, stepped on a random object, and tripped) out of bed, threw on my running clothes and immediately fuelled up.

100_6395

Like my broken thumbnail?

100_6397

Iced coffee with almond milk and stevia in an iced beer mug I bought in Jamaica. Noticing the trend yet? :P

Then I strapped on all my gadgets and was off for my planned five kilometres. Not gonna lie, I was (am) sore as hell from weight lifting yesterday. Pounding out a fast 5k so soon after may not have been in my best interest.

Duration: 28:04
Distance: 5.03 km
Avg Pace: 8:59
Avg HR: 162
Max HR: 176

Kinda nice to see that 8 in the pace, even if just barely! I think I started out at maybe a 10:00 and got increasingly faster towards the end. I was surprised by how easy it was to squeeze out a faster speed for those last 2 km. Running really is mental. The only thing holding me back was me thinking that going faster would be too hard. Well, it was hard (when is running ever easy?), but it was bearable and most importantly – fun!

By the bye, I’ve been measuring my runs with the Nike + iPod foot pod and plug-in I bought a while back. I had some difficulties getting it calibrated at first, but now it works great! No complaints thus far :)

I’ve been a hungry beast all day. I don’t know what is up with my body. Getting sick maybe? I’ve been more hungry than usual and I find my body is taking longer to recover between workouts. I don’t like it.

Some other eats from the day included a peach + AB break while preparing my apartment to be shown.

100_6398

Mediterranean cottage cheese pita with a plethora of veggies and a cinnamon-doused braeburn.

100_6402

Random protein bar bought based solely on name.

100_6409

100_6410

I won’t bother posting the ingredients. Just picture what’s in a KitKat with a bunch whey, soy and egg white protein. 

It was melty… did I mention it’s HOT here?

100_6415

It was actually pretty good, for a protein KitKat. The peanut butter was creamy, and the chocolate coating was decent. Not the greatest snack idea on a day when I’m starving though. Wafers = not filling!

Also had a little fat + fibre in hopes of satisfying my belly.

100_6418 
Wasa fibre rye with PB, lexia raisins and cinnamon. Made the hunger situation better, but not cured.

Spent the afternoon out and about. Picked up some new chain lube for my bike and a sweet new running bra from the Running Room.

100_6423

I contemplated doing actual clothes shopping, but the idea of spending my money on workout gear appealed to me more! I can’t wait to try out this bra. It’s got a built-in heart rate sensors.

100_6424

Apparently you just clip the transmitter on in the front. I’m sceptical it will actually work. Regardless, it’s still a really nice bra without it.

I also stopped by an Asian grocery that I discovered hidden in our city’s industrial park on my last bike ride. It was huge!!! I was hoping to find some of the coveted kabocha squash, but they don’t carry fresh produce. I did however leave with a few goodies.

100_6421

Black sesame seeds, rice paper and agar-agar. I have ideas for the seeds and rice paper, but I have no clue what to do with the agar-agar! Any ideas??

I had an early supper, because I was hungry again.

100_6428

Tempeh burger with microwaved sweet potato chips. My apartment is going to be an oven-free zone for the next few days. Seems like our weather only goes in extremes – cold and rainy or scorching hot!

For the record, this is not everything I ate today. There was a breakfast and more snacks in there. I just noticed I talked about being hungry, but looking at the pictures, it doesn’t look like I ate a lot. I did though!

I’m hoping to go for a hill bike ride tomorrow, but if my body doesn’t snap out of whatever is ailing it, I may just skip it. Which sucks, because it’s going to be a rain-free day off for me tomorrow, so it’s perfect for a bike ride! Of course, after tomorrow, it’s going to rain until Sunday, ugh ugh.

Yes, I know, I can hear the wah-bulance from here :P

In case you can’t tell, I’m having a “blah” day. Hopefully tomorrow is better! For the time being, I’m going to go lay in bed, nurse my current tummy ache, and watch Fast Food Nation. I just downloaded legally purchased it and am excited to watch it! I read the book in high school, but I can hardly remember it now. Much of high school is a haze for me :P

How about I end this lame post with a couple more random Q’s. What is one movie you really want to see but haven’t yet? What is one movie you think everyone should see?

Okay, this is totally self-serving, because I think y’all probably have great movie recommendations for me!

Hope you had a great day! :D

Posted on July 28, 2009, in Workouts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. Cool bra! I can’t believe it has an HRM in it!

    Sorry you are having a blah day.

    I can’t think of any movie that I really want to see right now. I have Netflix and have been getting stuff right and left lately!

    The Devil Came on Horseback is really a movie that people need to see. It’s about Darfur.

  2. I really wanna see UP, because ppl have been raving abt it…I can’t wait till it comes out in DVD (I’m cheap like that…)

    How do you make tempeh burger? It looks so delicious!

    • thegreatbalancingact

      Sophia, it was packaged like that. Only tempeh I can find around here! I don’t think it’s that special anyways, just tempeh in a round patty form :P

  3. I bought those wafers purely for the name too! Lol. Yeah, didn’t love them but the name made them worth it.

    Agar-agar- I have a GREAT recipe somewhere that I’ll try and hunt down. The ingredients are skim milk, coconut milk, sweetener of choice, dessicated coconut and agar agar. It sets into a coconut jelly and is SO good. I virtually lived off it for an entire summer…good stuff :D

  4. oh, movies… I have never seen any Harry Potter movies so kind of want to. I think everyone should see Patch Adams :D

  5. WholeBodyLove

    I REALLY want to see Food Inc. However, we are going to see Hangover this weekend on our date night. It is his birthday, so I suppose he wins! I would also like to see My Sister’s Keeper but I will probably wait for the DVD because I don’t want to cry in the theater!

    • thegreatbalancingact

      The Hangover is so good! Totally ridiculous in parts but hilarious in others. Not as “intellectual” as Food Inc. probably is, but you shoudn’t be dissapointed :)

  6. That is such a cool bra!!! I want one! I sometimes borrow the HRM strap from the gym but I hate fitting it around my chest. That bra is so cool!
    I think I’ve said this already but I am dying to see Food, Inc., and I don’t think it is being released in the UK! :(

  7. Nothing I want to see…

    The movie everone must see is “Office Space” by Mike Judge

    (I know… you knew that was coming)

  8. That bra is so cool! How much did you pay for it?

    I love that pita stuffed with all that goodness!

    I’ve been hungrier lately too..ugh!!

    • thegreatbalancingact

      Hey April! With tax, it came up to $50. Not too bad considering it was marked down from $70 and one of the cheapest ones there. Best part is, I went to do some work for a local TV station right afterward, and they paid me $50 cash for my time, so I broke even :D

  9. Hey girl, I hope you stay cool in the heat. I know what it’s like to have to battle the heat! Great job on your run, that’s awesome :D That bra looks really cool–I’m curious to know if the HRM works in it! And I really want to see The Hangover :)

  10. The Hangover is the best movie I’ve seen in a long time. I should mention my sense of humor is similar to a teenage boy though! lol! My husband loved it as did my dentist.

    As for movies people should see…hmmm…I’m not good at this, several of my friends still haven’t forgiven me for making them watch my favorite, A Clockwork Orange.

  11. Your burger totally looks like one from a restaurant!

  12. Can’t wait to hear if that heart rate monitor bra works!

  13. Hmm I don’t have any movie recs for anything that’s in the theater (we Netflix everything) but two movies I am dying to watch are Slumdog Millionaire and Milk. We have both of them and haven’t gotten around to it!

    I watched Amistad on 4th of July, and I think that’s a movie everyone should see. I thought it was going to be all about slavery and really graphic and sad, and while those parts were in there, it had a really good story and was full of “courtroom drama” that I like :-)

  14. I love all the nut butters in this post! The Oh Yeah bar sounds like it would be really good – sorry it didn’t fill you up very much.

    Haven’t seen: The Hangover – I know, I think I’m the only one. However all of my guy friends saw it and have been quoting ever since so I feel like I’ve seen it.
    Everyone should see: Hm…I don’t know, maybe Eurotrip or Night At The Roxbury so when I quote them I don’t sound like a dumb ass ;)

  15. your blog makes for delightful lunch reading! usually i get at you first thing in the morning but my internet has been down all day here at work~but really mini pitas and salad go GREAT with a side of susan.

    anywho, that bar looks just like a kitkat and i love the name. i would buy it based on that also. the frozen mug for iced coffee is a great idea! especially since a beer probably isn’t the greatest first thing in the morning. great job with that pace on the run! and i find that a run when i have DOMS helps loosen me up, even though it hurts so bad during the run. that bra is sweet! what brand is it? i wonder if it works with any HRM.. hmmm.. i want to get something fancy like that. i mean, it is just as easy to put my chest strap on but not nearly as cool. ok i have NO CLUE what agar squared is so i cant help you on that one. well i hope you dont melt today, oh and as far as movies go i cant wait to see the time traveler’s wife or julie and julia~both of which arent even out yet but i look forward to them! oh and the human version of alice in wonderland! and everyone should see dumb and dumber because it is a classic, obv. xoxo

  16. I’m so bummed that the weather has turned nice there…now that I’ve left – of course.

    PS – your pita looks AMAZING!

  17. i want to see “funny people.” and the movie i think everyone should see is my movie, “white on rice” when it comes out of course in september!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers

