Daily Archives: July 28, 2009

Someone call the wah-bulance

This morning, I woke up with a mission. Beat the heat. It’s going to be HOT around here for the next few days, so outdoor activity will have to be scheduled accordingly.

When my body clock woke me up at 6:30 am, I jumped (okay, stumbled, stepped on a random object, and tripped) out of bed, threw on my running clothes and immediately fuelled up.

100_6395

Like my broken thumbnail?

100_6397

Iced coffee with almond milk and stevia in an iced beer mug I bought in Jamaica. Noticing the trend yet? :P

Then I strapped on all my gadgets and was off for my planned five kilometres. Not gonna lie, I was (am) sore as hell from weight lifting yesterday. Pounding out a fast 5k so soon after may not have been in my best interest.

Duration: 28:04
Distance: 5.03 km
Avg Pace: 8:59
Avg HR: 162
Max HR: 176

Kinda nice to see that 8 in the pace, even if just barely! I think I started out at maybe a 10:00 and got increasingly faster towards the end. I was surprised by how easy it was to squeeze out a faster speed for those last 2 km. Running really is mental. The only thing holding me back was me thinking that going faster would be too hard. Well, it was hard (when is running ever easy?), but it was bearable and most importantly – fun!

By the bye, I’ve been measuring my runs with the Nike + iPod foot pod and plug-in I bought a while back. I had some difficulties getting it calibrated at first, but now it works great! No complaints thus far :)

I’ve been a hungry beast all day. I don’t know what is up with my body. Getting sick maybe? I’ve been more hungry than usual and I find my body is taking longer to recover between workouts. I don’t like it.

Some other eats from the day included a peach + AB break while preparing my apartment to be shown.

100_6398

Mediterranean cottage cheese pita with a plethora of veggies and a cinnamon-doused braeburn.

100_6402

Random protein bar bought based solely on name.

100_6409

100_6410

I won’t bother posting the ingredients. Just picture what’s in a KitKat with a bunch whey, soy and egg white protein. 

It was melty… did I mention it’s HOT here?

100_6415

It was actually pretty good, for a protein KitKat. The peanut butter was creamy, and the chocolate coating was decent. Not the greatest snack idea on a day when I’m starving though. Wafers = not filling!

Also had a little fat + fibre in hopes of satisfying my belly.

100_6418 
Wasa fibre rye with PB, lexia raisins and cinnamon. Made the hunger situation better, but not cured.

Spent the afternoon out and about. Picked up some new chain lube for my bike and a sweet new running bra from the Running Room.

100_6423

I contemplated doing actual clothes shopping, but the idea of spending my money on workout gear appealed to me more! I can’t wait to try out this bra. It’s got a built-in heart rate sensors.

100_6424

Apparently you just clip the transmitter on in the front. I’m sceptical it will actually work. Regardless, it’s still a really nice bra without it.

I also stopped by an Asian grocery that I discovered hidden in our city’s industrial park on my last bike ride. It was huge!!! I was hoping to find some of the coveted kabocha squash, but they don’t carry fresh produce. I did however leave with a few goodies.

100_6421

Black sesame seeds, rice paper and agar-agar. I have ideas for the seeds and rice paper, but I have no clue what to do with the agar-agar! Any ideas??

I had an early supper, because I was hungry again.

100_6428

Tempeh burger with microwaved sweet potato chips. My apartment is going to be an oven-free zone for the next few days. Seems like our weather only goes in extremes – cold and rainy or scorching hot!

For the record, this is not everything I ate today. There was a breakfast and more snacks in there. I just noticed I talked about being hungry, but looking at the pictures, it doesn’t look like I ate a lot. I did though!

I’m hoping to go for a hill bike ride tomorrow, but if my body doesn’t snap out of whatever is ailing it, I may just skip it. Which sucks, because it’s going to be a rain-free day off for me tomorrow, so it’s perfect for a bike ride! Of course, after tomorrow, it’s going to rain until Sunday, ugh ugh.

Yes, I know, I can hear the wah-bulance from here :P

In case you can’t tell, I’m having a “blah” day. Hopefully tomorrow is better! For the time being, I’m going to go lay in bed, nurse my current tummy ache, and watch Fast Food Nation. I just downloaded legally purchased it and am excited to watch it! I read the book in high school, but I can hardly remember it now. Much of high school is a haze for me :P

How about I end this lame post with a couple more random Q’s. What is one movie you really want to see but haven’t yet? What is one movie you think everyone should see?

Okay, this is totally self-serving, because I think y’all probably have great movie recommendations for me!

Hope you had a great day! :D

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers