Daily Archives: July 27, 2009

A-ing a few Q’s

Hello folks!! First, I want to say y’all made me feel better about my messiness :) Unfortunately, you tidy people have not inspired me. I still have tons of cleaning to do and I’m putting it off till the morning! The person is coming at 3pm to look at my apartment. So hopefully I can squeeze in a run, a quick trip to work, and removing the contents of my closet from my floor before then.

I’ve gotten a few good Q’s in the comments lately that I figured I should probably just answer in a post. I always try to be as brief as possible (I swear!) in my posts as not to drone on too much. As a result, I also have a tendency to leave out a few key things from time to time!

Both Lori and Janetha asked about when I’m moving . My lease at my current place is up Aug. 31, and the one at my new place starts Sept. 1. So some time around there! It all depends on when the current tenant in the new place moves out. I’m thinking one of those last days in August.

I’ve lived in my current apartment just over two years now with the awesomest roommie ever. We’ve been besties since the age of 6, so it’s really been like living with family. We both graduated from university this spring and are doing our own thing. She’s moving away for more schooling, and I’m staying put to work at my job. She’s actually been gone since the start of the summer working a summer job in our hometown. So I’m essentially already living by myself. I really like it and can’t wait to be in a spot to call my own!

Sophia asked, “Do you prefer biking to running?” Can I say I like both? :P There are things I both love and dislike about each. Biking is much easier on the muscles and joints. It’s also faster and a lot more fun sometimes. Running however is easier in the sense that it requires less equipment. It’s more simple to throw on my running shoes and head out the door than it is to get all my bike crap together. I also have to carry my bike up and down four flights of stairs, which consequently may be the cause of the chain marks on my legs.

Anywho, as for which is physically harder – running. But biking up a hill or in the wind is way harder than doing either on foot. So both can be equally challenging!

Janetha asked, “Do you miss swimming?” I haven’t swum since my triathlon three weeks ago. At first, I didn’t miss it at all. I was sick of having to adhere to the lap swim schedule, as it’s pretty hard to fit into my own schedule. There’s also only 5 student parking spaces at the pool, which was a GIANT pain in the butt. But now I’m kind of missing it! I’ve been doing such intense activity lately, I kind of miss my low intensity pool sessions.

My free pool use is up when my student ID expires in September, so I’m going to try harder to get in more pool time before that happens. It’s going to be hard though, because I already have myself on a “schedule.”

After finishing the triathlon, I made three goals for myself. Increase my bike mileage to 100k by the end of the season, run a 10k in September and start heavy weight lifting more regularly to regain my lost strength. Right now I’m trying, and almost failing, to get in two bike rides, two runs, and two weight sessions in a week. So that leaves little pool time!

Okay, okay. That was a lot of text. Hope that answers your questions! If there’s something I’m leaving out just let me know! I usually try to answer questions in the comments or through e-mail. But if they’re relevant, I’ll start including them in my posts :)

Now, the real question is, did I really eat a jar of nut butter for breakfast?

100_6369

Almost! But I put some oatbran in there for good measure ;)

100_6370

I’ve been eating a lot of nut butter lately. My body must be needing the fat or something. At this rate, I should be having another one of these next week. My only beef about the oats-in-a-jar is that it’s really hot to the touch!

I forgot to make iced coffee last night, so I broke out into a sweat drinking a hot coffee after this. So much for skipping a morning workout :P

I tried out another braeburn apple while hanging out in the news cruiser.

100_6374

This one was much better! Perfect amount of crunch and sweetness. I really like round apples for some reason. The core was also quite soft, I actually ate some of it!

I was running suuuuuper late this morning and had 6 minutes to pack a lunch. Hence, my half-assed smoked salmon wrap.

100_6377

Just some sliced cucumber and laughing cow in there. It was missing my usual plethora of veggies. Luckily, I packed some on the side.

100_6379

Carrots and heirloom tomatoes, dipped in tzatziki of course.

I had a Luna bar in the afternoon, but still had half a PB & honey sandwich before leaving work and heading to the gym.

100_6381

It was pretty dinky, but helped keep my tummy from wanting dinner while I worked out.

The gym was the busiest I’ve seen it all summer. The weight room was full of basketball players who think they’re mega tuff. Made me kind of miss the goofy hockey players that are usually there…

Duration: 1 hour and 4 minutes

Warm-up:
15 minutes on rowing machine

A1 – Front squat/push press:
3 sets @ 35 lbs x 8

B1 – Static lunge w/ rear foot elevated:
3 sets @ 10 lbs ea x 8 ea

B2 – Incline push-up:
3 sets @ 30 degrees x 8

C1 – Plank:
3 sets @ 60 sec

C2 – Prone cobra:
3 sets @ 90 sec

D1 – Side plank:
3 sets @ 30 sec ea

HIIT:
15 minutes on elliptical. 1 minute sprints on level 8, 2 minutes recovery on level 3.

Phew!! Not going to bother posting my heart rate or calorie burn for this session, as I’m trying to not get hung up on the calorie burns for my lifting sessions. The heart rate is good to know for resting in between sets, and knowing when I need to push myself harder during HIIT, but I don’t want it influencing what I do too much! Who cares if it was 115 doing planks? My whole body was shaking!

Had a protein cocktail when I came home.

100_6385

Ever notice that my shakes are always in booze glasses? They’re the only big ones I have! This is a PVL peach whey cooler in a hurricane glass.

Supper was a repeat from yesterday. I wasn’t even going to photograph it, but I’m pretty sure it gets the award for least photogenic.

100_6388

Burrito stuffing: 1/2 cup Eden Organic Caribbean rice & beans, 1 scrambled egg, onions, mushrooms, 1 laughing cow cheese wedge.

It at least looked a little nicer on the plate.

100_6393

Trust me, it was delicious!! As far as food goes, the ugliest is always the tastiest ;)

Okee, I’m completely wiped again. I’m on another “weekend,” but I want to be up early to go for a quick 3 mile run, run some work errands and clean my cluttered apartment!!

Sticking with yesterday’s cleaning theme: What’s your favourite room to clean? Least favourite?

Surprisingly, my favourite is the bathroom. Least favourite is my bedroom. I loathe putting things on hangers :P

See ya tomorrow!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers