Office eats

Hey there!! Hope all your weekends are going along swimmingly :) Mine’s been pretty dull, as per usual. But that’s okay since I had an awesome cottage trip last weekend.

So today I wanted to talk a little bit about packing lunches for the office. Honestly, I feel kind of silly even talking about this, because I bet there are so many people who do it better than I!! (have you seen Janetha’s rockin’ office hummus platters?)

Plus, this is also the first office I’ve ever worked in. All my past jobs have been in cafes/delis, where the food was already waiting for me at work ;) Although, that’s also what led to my weight gain…

Anyways, my office days are every Saturday and Sunday, and I have to be there for 5am. While most days I wake up earlier to make a nice breakfast, there is no way I’m doing that at that hour. So I prepare all my food the night before.

I usually start with making a breakfast cookie.

100_6083

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 2/3 scoop chocolate whey powder
  • 1 tbsp shredded coconut
  • 1 tbsp cashew almond butter
  • few chocolate chips
  • few splashes unsweetened vanilla almond milk

All spread out on a plate and popped in the fridge for the night…

100_6085

It should be mentioned that I was a little heavy handed on the almond milk with this one. You can tell by how much liquid there is on the top.

Then I mixed up a snack of mango, yogurt and cottage cheese.

100_6088

And because I eat lunch at 10am, I like to stick to the breakfast foods. I always pack the same lunch, but I love it and it satisfies my tummy!!

English muffin, laughing cow cheese, naval orange.

100_6091
Tupperware container of 5 egg whites (that extra egg white makes all the difference, I swear!!)

100_6093

My alarm went off at 4:30 am and I immediately got up, scraped the breakfast cookie off the plate, flipped it over, and popped it in the freezer.

100_6095

It especially needed it this morning! I usually shower the night before my early shifts to save time in the morning. So I just washed my face/teeth and painted my face back on while french pressing coffee to bring with me. Then I packed up all the goodies from the fridge/freezer and was off to work!

As soon as I get to work, I eat my cookie with my coffee while checking e-mails and seeing what disasters happened overnight.

100_6096

I really like bringing breakfast cookies to the office because they’re portable and easy to munch on while I work. I’ve tried bars, and oatmeals, but this just works best for me. Plus, it’s like a special treat for waking myself up so early :)

Around 7:45 I yanked out my mango mess. Then at 10, I toasted my english muffin in the staff room toaster and microwaved my tupperware of egg whites for two minutes. I spread the laughing cow cheese on the english muffin, cut the egg white pillow in half, and put it on.

100_6104

Yummm! After eating cold lunches for work all week, it is such a treat to use a toaster and microwave!! Hot food!!

Enjoyed with an orange

100_6106 
While watching the Tour de France

100_6100

Hey now, I still got my work window open on the side :P I watched the finish when I got home, it was sooo good. George Hincapie was so close to getting the yellow jersey!! Ah! I’m totally rooting for team Columbia-HTC. Cavendish has got to get that green jersey, he’s riding a Scott(tie) like me!

I really wanted a something chocolate-y when I got home. Enter the protein bar. Candy disguised as health food? Yes please!

100_6108

I’ve tried this kind before and recall liking it. It’s Iso Femme chocolate decadent almond delight. It’s flipping expensive though, almost $3!!

Scary oils? Check.

 100_6114

100_6117
Nutrition facts don’t look so bad. I can’t believe it’s only 160 calories a bar!

100_6109

Tastes a little protein powdery, but I still liked it just as much the second time around. I’ve seriously gotta start cutting these sketchy bars out of my diet though. I always buy them as “treats,” but I have one almost every day. Which in my opinion, is too often to be consuming candy bars. I’m just going to stop buying them, I bet my wallet will appreciate it too :) If they’re not in the house, then I’ll (hopefully) reach for better snacks when I’m wanting something sweet and chocolate-y.

I’ve at least been eating lots of these little bowls.

100_6120 
Berries, straight up. So fresh and delicious, I don’t want to taint them by adding something else!

For supper I had pigs in a blanket!

100_6121
Okay, they’re just Yves veggie dogs wrapped in a tortilla.  I had veggies and tzatziki on the side. A good, munchy dinner!

My evening snack was all about volume.

100_6130
1/2 cup Nature’s Path blueberry cinnamon cereal with 1 cup Nature’s Path kamut puff, mixed with unsweetened vanilla almond milk. It was a huge bowl because of the puffs. Not very filling because of that though. Oh, and I doused it with cinnamon, because that makes everything taste better :)

I was going to go for a “long” run today. But I’m feeling pretty sleep deprived, Add some “heavy mist” into the mix, and it didn’t get done. I have a list of things I won’t workout through – sleep deprivation being one of them. I’m just setting myself up for injury or illness that way. Saturday’s are the worst because I can’t nap if I want to get to bed early for my next morning shift.

Instead, I put what little energy I had to finding my bedroom floor. Apparently, I had one underneath all those clothes!

I also added to my wall of accomplishments.

100_6133

I didn’t get a medal or bib from the triathlon, so I added my swim cap :) Also up there are my sailing certifications and the bib from my first 5k. Anyone else think it’s weird my university diploma isn’t up there? I just noticed that…

Two questions of the day:  What is on/would be on your “wall of accomplishments?” aaannnd what is your go-to lunch item to bring to the office?

Also, check out my Eats page, I finally finished it today. 

I’m off to go make lunch for tomorrow. I’m actually looking forward to my 8:30 pm bedtime. How’s that for a wild Saturday night? Night night!

Posted on July 18, 2009, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. ah ha – so you have to flip and freeze the cookie – is that how you get it firm?!!?

    i guess my big accomplishment is that i have starred in a movie that was in theaters….i keep having to remind myself of this….sometimes i forget that’s been my dream since childhood….

    • thegreatbalancingact

      Lynn, freezing it definitely helps! It only goes in there for 15 minutes or so because it tends to thaw out a little on my drive to work. If I’m eating a breakfast cookie at home, I usually just eat it out of the fridge and off the plate :)

  2. I need to try the breakfast cookie again, although I don’t purchase alternative milks. I wonder if regular milk would work?

    My wall would have all my race bibs. I did get one for my tri and it actually has the name of the triathlon on it, which made me happy!

    I work at home, so I don’t have to worry about packing a lunch per se – but when I did work outside the home, I used to eat frozen dinners back then (ugh??). Those would definitely not be my go to food anymore. I think it would be yogurt and fruit.

    I love that bowl of berries – I am like you, no adornment, just straight up.

    • thegreatbalancingact

      Lori, any sort of liquid would do!! You just need it to thicken up the protein powder a little so it can settle in the fridge :)

  3. WholeBodyLove

    I never thought to freeze my breakfast cookie to make it portable! Why this never crossed my mind, I don’t know. I have 3 days per week that require me to pack meals/snacks for 10 hours! So, I appreciate the great ideas:)

  4. rediscoveringlauren

    your breakfast cookies are the best ive seen around the blogs :) it always looks really solid and yummy! you make me want to try make one haha!
    i love all of the ideas you have about packing portable snacks etc. Im a total snacker so i usually just pack bars with me but when college restarts im gonna need some new ideas for lunches, so youve given me some already :)
    have a great saturday night!

  5. thank you for showing how you make your b-fast cookie!! I am dying to try one but never knew how :)

  6. Love the swim cap on the wall :D Also love the stats on that protein bar… It seems the more chemicals they have, the higher the protein count. I like high protein so I pay the price- I figure that there are worse options for snacks out there and my overall diet is pretty ‘okay’ so it could be worse.

    Hmm…my wall of accomplishment? I have my life coaching certificate and some papers I got good marks on that I am proud of. I’d also put up some photos of major life events that made me happy :) My mom keeps my trophies, etc at her place. I think she is more proud of them than me :P

    Office eats for me: sandwich, banana and protein bar. Short lunch breaks = minimal eating time and it’s all about cramming in as much nutrition into smallest time frame possible!

  7. Wow your breakfast cookie really does look like a cookie! Mine never comes out like that.. but its still very yummy!

    Those pigs in a blanket are precious! haha great idea!

  8. haha i have a full kitchen at my office so i think i am spoiled. but it does make all the difference when you have a fridge, toaster and microwave to use! the possibilities for work eats become endless! i love your fluffy pllowy egg whites.. that container you keep them in makes them the perfect size to top the EMs! i am msurprised that thick bar is so low in cals. i think your version of the bfast cookie is my fave, the addition of coconut makes it sooo much better! questions hmm i don’t have a wall of accomplishments! i always have thrown the bibs from my races away, but have done a 5k and a 10k. i would probably put the xray of my broken humerus on the wall because all day before that happened i spent landing the biggest jump i ever had set out for snowboarding–it was a 65 foot jump. too bad it got me in the end! and my favorite work food.. shooot. too hard, but i ALWAYS have bags of chopped veggies and hummus, of course! i am going to try out your hummus recipe! yayyyy thanks for that!

  9. Hi Susan! Ok, if I ever work up the guts again to try another breakfast cookie, I am doing your flip-and-freeze trick.
    I love seeing the breakdown of your eats. Looks like you’ve got your routine down to an art :)

  10. Oh I love how you’ve got a wall of accomplishments to pump you up and motivate you even more! And thats great that you know how to pack such yummy health food to work…good thing there’s a microwave for instant hot food!

  11. 4:30 am is so early….I LOVE how you freeze your breakfast cookie to make it portable.

    LOVE your egg white fluffy lunch – that is a great idea.

    I like the idea of your wall of accomplishments – I should do something like that.

  12. Your breakfast cookie looks delicious! I love your flip + freeze trick. 4:30 is early!! Your veggie pigs in a blanket are too cute.

    I love your wall of accomplishments! I have medals and bib numbers from races and figure skating competitions, and also ribbons from when I was a competitive horseback rider. I’d probably also have the little medals from harp and violin festivals/competitions :)

  13. I am definately trying your breakfast cookie soon. They always look so delicious! I also pack breakfast, lunch, and snacks for work. Today I had mini egg and veggie quiches (bake them in muffin tins) with yogurt for breakfast. Steamed spinach, edamame, tuna, and Annie’s Goddess dressing for lunch. Snacks are string cheeses, cashews, and carrots.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers

