You made it!!!

Welcome to my new blog!!! I was hoping to have a little more content up for the big reveal. But I guess my life is just busier than I thought (okay, okay, and I procrastinated). Feel free to peruse what I do have, I’ll be letting you know as new stuff goes up :)

So first, let’s talk about what you can expect to see on here. I’ll still be doing my usual food pictures and yammering, but maybe just not so much of it. I will be writing more “topical” posts about things that are relevant to the health, food and fitness world. I’ll be sticking to my one post a day format as well.

So what is “The Great Balancing Act?” It’s the everyday challenge we face of sticking to our commitments with work, family, friends, while maintaining the healthiest lives we can. It’s getting up 30 minutes earlier to squeeze in a workout. It’s taking the extra 10 minutes to make a sandwich to bring to work instead of buying one. It’s knowing that if I eat tons of potato chips and a huge slice of pie, that I will still get up tomorrow and eat the best foods I can.

So this little blog is all about being the best we can to ourselves, while balancing it out with the rest of life.

But I won’t mind if we get a little side-tracked along the way ;)

Since I’m technically writing two posts today, this will be short. I want to share some fun stuff that happened today! First, I got up early to go on another great run. My new running sneakers are little miracle workers I tell ya!

Duration: 30:13
Distance: 3 miles
Max HR: 177
Avg HR: 166

I want to share this for two reasons. First, that is a freakin’ fast run for me! Especially since I’m still only easing back into it.

Second, check out those heart rate stats! I was aware that my ticker was pumping away at 177, and I actually felt okay running through it. I think my triathlon training put me in much better cardiovascular shape. Back in January, I would have died on a 166 bpm run, and now it feels like a good sweaty challenge!

The down side? I’m weak as hell. I’m still sore from the C+K challenge 15 minute strength workout I did on Sunday!

New goal: Keep improving my cardiovascular fitness, adding both speed and distance to my cycling and running workouts, while improving my strength.
How: Running twice a week, cycling twice a week, two strength workouts a week (including one full session dedicated to only heavy lifting).

I see a lot of huffing and puffing and soreness in my future :P

Okay, eats time!

100_6014

I am l-o-v-i-n these instant oats.

100_6025 100_6028 100_6029

I mixed one packet with 1 cup water, 1 tbsp soy protein powder, half a banana and one heaping tablespoon peanut butter. I urge all you stove-top snobs to give this stuff a try (if you’re in Canada). It makes for the perfect quick, post-run fuel :)

Tonight’s dinner featured fresh trout. I stopped buying fresh fish because it is so expensive, but I found a huge filet on sale for $3.50!

I put maple syrup, balsamic vinegar and crushed pecans on top, and wrapped it in tinfoil with some eggplant. Baking at 425 F for about 15-20 minutes.

100_6016

I had frozen veggies on the side with some Classico roasted garlic tomato sauce (also on sale!). It was a YUM dinner. I still have half the filet left!

 
Don’t forget to update all your readers and blogrolls with the new address! My blogroll is a work in progress, I still have more to add, so drop me a line if you want your piece of the internet on there too :)

Coming up on the blog: Packing healthy lunches for work

Thanks for stopping by my new home! I’m SO excited to be embarking on this new journey! Thanks for coming along for the ride! :D

Posted on July 14, 2009, in Workouts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. Tonights self inflicted Time Trial.

    Distance: 55.21 km
    Duration: 1:54:14
    Avg. Speed: 29.1 km/hr !!!

    Max HR: 186 bpm
    Avg. HR: 161 bpm

    1128 Calories.

    I ended up seeing both Oromocto and Silverwood.

  2. WooHoo! Love the new look!

    Congrats on the new blog!

  3. Yay! Welcome to your new home!

  4. yay for the new blog! It looks great :D

  5. LOVE it! Congrats on the “move”

  6. WholeBodyLove

    I love the new blog! Happy Blogwarming lol.

  7. rediscoveringlauren

    love the new blog :) ive been reading your old one for a while so i thought id come out of the shadows and comment :)

  8. Susan, the new blog looks great! I love the concept :) I’ve subscribed to the feed and I’m going to change my blogroll now. So go ahead and take the old blog off the blogroll?

    • thegreatbalancingact

      Hey Lara! Good question, yes you can just take the old blog of your blogroll. It will still exist as a read-only site, but no new content will be going up :)

  9. YAY! Love the new blog- welcome to your new ‘home’ :D

  10. Love the new blog! How exciting!

    Those oats look delicious.. perfect refuel!

  11. Love the new blog look! Your dinner looks amazing!

  12. woohoo! love the new digs!! and strangely enough i have NEVER tasted trout, even though it is very popular here in utah. maybe i should!

  13. Love the move!! I like the sounds of that tomato sauce/veggie combo!

  14. Thanks for finding me and leaving a comment! I’ll be adding you to my blogroll! I haven’t been doing as much heavy lifting lately, it kinda effed up my knees actually. And I want to try and cut some more body fat before getting hard core back into lifting. Doesn’t do a whole lot of good when you can’t see my muscles under all the fat. :-/ I’ve turned my focus back to cardio, with lifting 2x a wk and I’m trying to start doing Yoga at least 1x a week, if not 2. Joining a new gym should help with my motivation! We’ll be in touch – L4L

  15. Okay, so Love the blog and the triathalon training…and the fact you won that awesome award…if you get a chance, check out my giveaway…I think you’ll like it!

    http://thespecialktreatment.wordpress.com/

  1. Pingback: Year in Review + Un Piece de Resistance « The Great Balancing Act

  2. Pingback: On this day… | The Great Balancing Act

  3. Pingback: 500 | The Great Balancing Act

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers

